OREGON SCHOOL ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION
Volleyball SRI Bulletin / September 18, 2015

OFFICIALS & COACHES INFORMATION

1. NFHS Rule Clarification — 3" Time Out

SITUATION 5: The coach of Team R, which has used all time-outs, approaches the R2 and wants to call
a time-out. (a) The coach makes the move toward the R2 and the R2 quickly waves the coach back
with no interruption in the progress of the set as the coach immediately returns to the team bench.
(b) The coach moves toward the R2 and requests a time-out. The R2 knows there are no time-outs,
does not whistle and comments to the coach about the certainty of his/her request and the coach
returns to the bench. The R2 has an unnecessary delay for the brief slowdown in the progress of play.
(c) The coach requests a time-out, which is granted, and the teams report to their bench and the
scorer then tells the R2 this is a third time-out. The R2 whistles to end the interruption of the progress
of the set and immediately sends the teams to the court. It is an unnecessary delay but is an
immediate administrative red card (loss of rally/point) as play was significantly delayed. RULING:
Correct procedures. COMMENT: There are a number of situations that result in an unnecessary delay;
requesting a third time-out is but one. If there is no delay, or a brief delay Rule 9-9-1 applies and the
first offense is an administrative yellow card. However, if the coach requests and is initially granted a
third or subsequent time-out, this is a direct loss of rally/point with an administrative red card as all
progress of the set is halted. This is a direct action of the coach of which he/she has full control. The
coach has been informed by the referees of the team’s time-out status as well as having this
responsibility for his/her team. (Rules 9-9-1 and 11-2 Penalty No. 2) (NFHS Rule Interpretation
Document 8/5/15)

Clarification from NFHS Webinar on 9/14/15

(a) There was no interruption in the progress of the set, no penalty.

(b) There was a delay in the progress of the set, a YUD is issued, set continues.

(c) After the T/O is granted, once the error is discovered, teams are to immediately return to the floor
and a RUD is issued, resulting in a loss of rally/point. (See my italics above.)

The question has come up “What if the coach asks the R2 or scorekeeper how many time-outs they
have used and they are given incorrect information resulting in requesting and being granted a 3™
time out?”

ANSWER per NFHS: The ultimate responsibility belongs to the coach. There are many circumstances
that exist as to how and when the coach is asking about time-outs. The information must be
requested of the R2 during a dead ball. (12-2-5a) If the R2, upon being asked appropriately, responds
incorrectly the UD may be removed and play MUST resume immediately. Again, the ultimate
responsibility belongs to the coach.

2. NFHS Rule Clarification - lllegal Libero Exchange

Situation: The libero #4 replaces player #7 after she has finished serving. She goes to the middle back
position. The R2 realizes that the libero is in the wrong position. She immediately whistles and
administers a YUD (if first in set, RUD if second in set) and the libero is placed in the correct position.
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Same scenario, but this time the R2 notices the libero in the incorrect position just as the R1 has
whistled and beckoned for serve. The R2 should immediately whistle and display signal #1, lllegal
Alignment. A point is issued to the serving team and the libero is placed in the proper position. The
R2 does not need to wait until the serve is contacted to call illegal alignment. Note: This is different
from other violations of illegal alignment where the ball is not whistled dead until contact of serve is
made.

3. Per OSAA when a coach receives a yellow card at a tournament the card carries from match to match
throughout the day. The penalty of the coach remaining seated does not carry over to the next match
unless that same coach receives a red card in a subsequent match.

4. Lline Judges (pg. 124 “B” Officials Manual)

“If the server serves from the left third of the service area, the line judge on the serving team’s side
shall move directly back and in line with the extension of the sideline, out of the peripheral view of the
server or, if directed by the R1 to the side and in line with the extension of the end line until the ball is
contacted for serve.” Option 2 is only if you have a server with a strong potential to foot fault. The
primary placement of a line judge is always behind the server in this scenario.

Officials: Please review page 130 and the diagram where line judges are to stand during a T/O.

OFFICIALS INFORMATION

All R2’s should be mastering the following protocols (pg. 75ff. of Official’s Manual):

e Scan playable areas for encroaching fans and other safety hazards near the court.

e Use the ready-to-play signal after every time-out and substitution when actually ready to watch
the receiving team for illegal alignment. (Not before subs have been written on card.)

e Assist the R1 on ball handling calls that are ONLY outside of their view with an informal/discreet
signal.

e Give correct mechanics for R2 initiated net and centerline violations.

e Make sure YUD and RUD’s are administered correctly and recorded on the score sheet. NFHS has
added a whistle to start the presentation of the YUD card.

e |ndicate to the R1 at the start of the T/O the number of T/O’s used.

e End the T/O with a double whistle ONLY if the horn has not sounded.

e At end-of-set remain facing the court to monitor the exchange of teams.

If anyone has video of matches they could send to me | would really appreciate it. Thank you.

Debi Hanson
OSAA Volleyball State Rules Interpreter
gpvoa.commish@me.com
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